+1 (868) 748-2602         secretariat@caribbeanstudiesassociation.org
(calls will only be received Monday - Friday between the hours of 8:00am - 3:00pm EST)

Conference Program Committee

Español | Français | Kreyol

41st Annual Conference Program Committee

Angelique V. NixonAngelique V. Nixon, Program Co-chair

Angelique V. Nixon is a writer, artist, teacher, scholar, activist, and poet — born and raised in The Bahamas. Her research, cultural criticism, and poetry have been published widely. She is a Lecturer at the Institute for Gender and Development Studies, University of the West Indies, St. Augustine in Trinidad and Tobago. Angelique holds a Ph.D. in English from the University of Florida (2008), where she specialized in Caribbean and African diaspora literatures, Caribbean and postcolonial studies, women’s studies and gender research. She is the recipient of a number of awards including a postdoctoral fellowship in Africana studies at New York University (2009) and a Fulbright Scholar Grant for teaching and research in Trinidad and Tobago (2014). Her scholarly book Resisting Paradise: Tourism, Diaspora, and Sexuality in Caribbean Culture was recently published by the University Press of Mississippi (2015). Angelique has been an active member of CSA since 2009: she served on the Executive Council 2013-2015, and she is co-founder of the Sexualities Working Group. Angelique works with a number of community-based organizations, namely the grassroots healing collective Ayiti Resurrect working in Leogane, Haiti focusing on women’s empowerment, sustainability, education, and health. She is co-chair of the Caribbean IRN which connects activists, researchers, and artists who do work on diverse genders and sexualities in the Caribbean.

E-mail:  program.chair@caribbeanstudiesassociation.org

MarieJjose Nzengou-TayoMarie-Jose Nzengou-Tayo, Program Co-chair

Marie-José Nzengou-Tayo (PhD.) is a Senior Lecturer in French at the University of the West Indies, Mona and the former Chair of the Department of Modern Languages & Literatures (2005-2011). She is specialized in the Teaching of French as a Foreign Language and a researcher in the literature and culture of the French-speaking Caribbean. In 2004 she received the French order of the Palmes académiques (Chevalier). She is a past President of the Haitian Studies Association (2005-2006). In 2013 she received the Principal’s award for Research for her article “The Haitian Short-Story: an Overview,” (Journal of Caribbean Literatures, Vol.6:6). She is the recipient of the 2015 Principal’s Award for Research for her article, “Translating the Other’s Voice: When is too much too much?” (In collaboration with Elizabeth (Betty) Wilson, in Paul Bandia (ed.)’s Writing and Translating Francophone Discourse: Africa, The Caribbean, Diaspora).

E-mail:  program.chair@caribbeanstudiesassociation.org


CSA Members (from Exec Council, Committees & Working Groups)

  • Anja Bandau (Committee for Translinguistic Exchange & Translation)
  • Nadia Celis (Committee for Translinguistic Exchange & Translation)
  • Halimah Deshong (Sexualities Working Group)
  • Vilma Diaz (Executive Council)
  • Kamille Gentles-Peart (Author Celebration)
  • Angela Roe (Film Track)
  • Heather Russell (Executive Council)
  • Andrea Shaw (Literary Salon)
  • Margaret Shrimpton (Committee for Translinguistic Exchange & Translation)
  • Marie-Agnès Sourieau (CSA lifetime member)
  • Gina Athena Ulysse (Visual Arts & Performance Track)
  • Nicholas Watts (Environmental Working Group)
  • Keithley Woolward (Executive Council)

State University of Haiti Faculty

  • Lewis Ampidu Clorméus
  • Joseph Ronald Dautruche
  • Edelyn Dorismond
  • Renaud Govain
  • Jean Waddimir Gustinvil
  • Lenz Jean-François
  • Maud Laëthier
  • Georges Eddy Lucien
  • Samuel Régulus

Program Assistants – Book Editors

  • Rosamond S. King
  • Hakim Mohandas Amani Williams